1792 Wheated Full Proof: Age, Proof, MSRP & Release

1792 Wheated Full Proof: Age, Proof, MSRP & Release

Barton 1792 Distillery Announces New 1792 Wheated Full Proof Bourbon

Barton 1792 Distillery has announced 1792 Wheated Full Proof Bourbon, bringing a higher-proof expression to its wheated bourbon lineup. Announced October 28, the release arrives beginning November 2026, bottled at 125 proof, with a suggested retail price of $39.99 for 375 mL.

For bourbon drinkers, the combination raises a few immediate questions: How old is it? Where will it launch? And what does “full proof” mean here?

1792 Wheated Full Proof Bourbon: Release Details

Detail What we know
Distillery Barton 1792 Distillery, Bardstown, Kentucky
Age Not disclosed in the launch announcement
Proof 125
ABV 62.5%
MSRP $39.99
Bottle size 375 mL
Release Beginning November 2026
Initial states California, Texas, New York, Florida, Illinois
Recipe Wheated bourbon; exact grain percentages undisclosed

The price applies to a half-size bottle. The announcement does not identify a specific November release day or a broader distribution schedule.

How Old Is 1792 Wheated Full Proof?

Barton has not disclosed the bourbon’s age in its announcement. An exact maturation period remains unconfirmed; ages associated with other 1792 releases should not be applied to this expression.

How Does It Connect to 1792 Sweet Wheat?

The new release builds on 1792 Sweet Wheat, which debuted in 2015. It carries that wheated style into a higher-proof bottling. According to Barton’s announcement, the goal is greater richness and intensity while retaining the sweetness associated with Sweet Wheat.

On its official Sweet Wheat page, 1792 describes using wheat instead of traditional rye, with vanilla, caramel, dried fruit, and oak in the flavor profile. That provides useful context for the family resemblance, although a side-by-side tasting will be needed to assess the differences.

What Does Full Proof Mean?

For this release, 125 proof matches the whiskey’s original barrel-entry strength. That is also how 1792 explains the name of its existing Full Proof bourbon. Matching entry proof does not, by itself, establish that a whiskey is bottled at its undiluted strength after aging.

Official Tasting Notes

The producer’s tasting notes, reported in launch coverage, describe:

  • Nose: Caramel, honey, apricot, vanilla, and oak.

  • Palate: Honeyed caramel, stone fruit, tropical accents, and oak tannins.

  • Finish: Caramelized sugar and lingering oak.

These are producer-supplied descriptions, rather than a firsthand tasting assessment.

Price and Availability: What Buyers Should Know

The $39.99 MSRP is for 375 mL. At that price, two bottles would cost $79.98 for a combined 750 mL—a useful comparison when weighing it against other wheated bourbons.

California, Texas, New York, Florida, and Illinois are the announced launch markets. A statewide launch announcement should not be read as a guarantee that every retailer will receive bottles immediately.

For readers watching this release, the next useful details will be confirmed store arrivals, any additional distribution announcements, and independent tasting impressions. Until then, the appeal is straightforward: a chance to explore 1792’s wheated bourbon style at a substantially bolder bottling strength.

0 comments

Leave a comment